Sturdy Tires

The is the core forum of BFC. It's all about informal and random talk on any topic.
Forum rules
Post a new topic to begin a chat.
Any topic is acceptable, and topic drift is permissible.
yogi

Sturdy Tires

Post by yogi »

Here is what it looks like when tires hit the ground at about 200 mph.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohexwJzpsD0
Kellemora
Guardian Angel
Guardian Angel

Re: Sturdy Tires

Post by Kellemora »

Hmm, something must have drastically changed over the years since I worked for McDonnell-Douglas.
What am I talking about?
Well, I noticed in the video that the tires were not spinning before touchdown!
Maybe they make better tires now and don't need to?
OK, I just looked it up. Spinning the tires before landing never gained widespread acceptance, because it didn't help the tires last any longer than not having the feature.
I just thought it odd is all, since at the time I worked in the field, a vane assembly as part of the wheel was a common item. Heck even the little Piper Colt and Tri-Pacer I used to rent had wheel vanes to keep them spinning. The Tri-Pacer had vanes on both sides of the front wheel.
Of course we are talking about the late 1960's and early '70's here, hi hi... Man I'm OLDE!
pilvikki

Post by pilvikki »

talk about burning rubber.... :eek:

just the other day i saw an interesting video of a plane having to land with the front landing gear stuck sideways to the aircraft. can't believe the pilot did it!

ah, found it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epKrA8KjYvg

the first two mins are just blah-blah-blah.
yogi

Post by yogi »

It's probably not as tricky as you would think. The idea is to keep the front gear off the ground as long as possible. That was a LOT of flaming, but it looked like an ordinary landing otherwise.
pilvikki

Post by pilvikki »

also, i'd think not to drop it, or you'd be doing cartwheels...
yogi

Post by yogi »