Let Me Count The Ways

My special interest is computers. Let's talk geek here.
yogi

Let Me Count The Ways

Post by yogi »

This thread is dedicated to my account and adventures involving the creation of a bootable USB memory stick as instructed by an unnamed person who occasionally visits the public library somewhere near Knoxville, TN. Let me say from the onset that this unnamed and unknown (to me) person is a genius. Well, at least he is well more advanced in the art of using Linux OS's than I am. I can't thank this anonymous person enough for the idea and I am indebted to Gary for being an intermediary in all of this. But, alas, I have uncovered many obstacles hidden in the instructions, most of which I have no experience with removing. This could be a very short thread, or very long. In any case it deserves to be separated from the general fiasco I am experiencing with yet another project that involves booting from removeable USB devices.

Here are the instructions I received, slightly reformatted:

anonymous wrote:What he said he does is create a bootable LIVE thumb drive first using Lubuntu since it is small.

Then he uses Gparted, the one in Lubuntu, to partition the thumb drive and shrink the partition with the .iso down, but leaves at least 30 extra megs for it to run in.

He creates a swap partition of about 4 gigs.

Then divides the rest of the thumb drive into two partitions
• one to install the desired OS and sets this partition as ROOT,
• and one for Data,

If a Linux OS like Ubuntu he uses ext4 for the two partitions. If he is installing Windows 7, he formats the partitions NTFS. Do not name the partitions yet. He added it gets complicated installing Windows. I said we only need to install a Linux OS, so he skipped whatever he was going to say about that.

From here you have two options:
• One is to install Virtual Machine, not Virtual Box or to install the Distro of choice. He does not use Virtual Machine or Box because it slows everything down.